The ASCS podium finishers of Sam Hafertepe Jr. (middle), Dominic Scelzi (right), and Blaine Baxter at Kennedale Speedway Park. (ASCS Photo)

Hafertepe Stars In Kennedale ASCS Run

KENNEDALE, Texas — Racing close to home over the weekend, Sunnyvale’s Sam Hafertepe Jr. captured Saturday’s $4,000 prize over a field of 32 with the MYCO Plastics ASCS Elite Outlaw Sprints onboard the Hills Racing No. 15h.

The 75th time Hafertepe has topped an ASCS Regional event, Saturday was his first with the MYCO Plastics ASCS Elite Outlaw Sprints.

A nice tune-up for the Cowtown Classic this coming weekend with the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Cars, Hafertepe took the green from the right of the front row, where Louisiana’s Koty Adams would take advantage of his pole starting position to lead into the first and second turns.

Holding point through the opening dozen circuits, the battle for the lead came as the pair approached traffic, with Hafertepe taking a couple shots at it before securing the top spot with an inside move off the fourth turn.

Holding on through several restarts throughout the remainder of the race, the final pause came with three laps to run, where the five-time ASCS National Tour Champion remained unchallenged for the win over Blaine Baxter, who trailed by 0.777-seconds.

Another whirlwind of a night for California’s Dominic Scelzi, a trip to the tail on lap five after going around saw the No. 41 charge his way back to the front for a third-place finish. Logan McCandless and Koty Adams made up the top five.

Feature Finish (30 Laps)

1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[2]; 2. 25B-Blaine Baxter[4]; 3. 41-Dominic Scelzi[8]; 4. 29-Logan McCandless[9]; 5. 6-Koty Adams[1]; 6. 88R-Ryder Laplante[16]; 7. 3-Ayrton Gennetten[19]; 8. 10G-Marcus Thomas[10]; 9. 23B-Brian Bell[13]; 10. 74E-Claude Estes[17]; 11. 20G-Noah Gass[5]; 12. G6-Cody Gardner[20]; 13. 2C-Wayne Johnson[3]; 14. 23-Lance Moss[15]; 15. 01J-Jeb Sessums[12]; 16. 4-Austin Mundie[18]; 17. 73-Scotty Thiel[7]; 18. 95-Matt Covington[6]; 19. 36-Jason Martin[11]; 20. 2B-Brett Becker[14]