Seth Bergman (Richard Bales photo)

Bergman Captures Fall Fling Sprint

SAPULPA, Okla. — Coming down to the final turn on Friday night, Seth Bergman held off the charges of Blake Hahn and Tyler Thomas for the win in the Creek County Speedway Fall Fling with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products.

Jumping out to a commanding lead, Bergman kept a nearly two-second gap on the field through the first half of the 30-lap feature. Losing little time through traffic, Seth’s tempo changed drastically as the caution lights came on with seven laps to run.

Restarting with a trio of slower cars between himself and Blake Hahn, who had rolled the hub from eighth to second, the Oil Fire Whiskey No. 52 made quick work of the lapped cars.

Going under caution again with six laps left, Hahn set his sights on the lead. Working under the No. 23, Hahn had the lead nearly in hand before the caution lights came on again on lap 27 when championship contender, Jeremy Campbell, rolled to a stop with a shredded right rear. Only trailing by two markers going into the night, the flat marked the end of his championship run.

Back to green for the final three laps, the assaults on the lead came from all directions as Blake Hahn and Tyler Thomas went after the point. Hahn low, Thomas high, the pair tore at each other with two to go. Advantage to Thomas, the BT Machine No. 91t pulled wide for the lead off at one end of the Creek County Speedway, dove low at the other, with both attempts coming up just shy of the pass.

To the white flag, Bergman made his Stagg Insurance No. 23 as wide as possible. With no room for error through the final two turns, he was barely able to pull away off the final turn for his 11th career ASCS Sooner Region win.

Getting the run off the bottom, Hahn went back to second at the line with Thomas holding on for third. After spinning on the opening laps, Brandon Anderson fought back to finish fourth with Andrew Deal in fifth.

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 2. 52-Blake Hahn[8]; 3. 91T-Tyler Thomas[3]; 4. 55B-Brandon Anderson[2]; 5. 15D-Andrew Deal[4]; 6. 8-Alex Sewell[5]; 7. 20-Noah Gass[6]; 8. 9-Chase Randall[7]; 9. 5T-Ryan Timms[12]; 10. 1-Sean McClelland[13]; 11. 23G-Steven Shebester[17]; 12. 32G-Kolton Gariss[20]; 13. 17B-Ryan Bickett[18]; 14. 9$-Kyle Clark[10]; 15. 10C-Jeremy Campbell[9]; 16. 20G-Jake Greider[11]; 17. 31-Casey Wills[19]; 18. 14E-Kyle Bellm[15]; 19. 5$-Danny Smith[14]; 20. 95-Matt Covington[16]