Wcscmhof Logo New

West Coast Stock Car/Motorsports HOF To Induct Class Of 2022

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. – Stars of motorsports, representing the west’s short tracks, Indianapolis 500, NASCAR’s national competitions and legendary international tracks of Europe, will be enshrined Thursday, June 9 during the West Coast Stock Car/Motorsports Hall of Fame’s Class of 2022 ceremonies. 

Presented by World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway Motorsports Park, the Hall’s gala will for the first time be held at Sonoma Raceway’s new VIP/Hospitality Center which rings the track’s famous turn 11.

The West Coast Stock Car/Motorsports Hall of Fame is covered internationally by MAVTV, which is carried at U.S. military facilities world-wide. Highlights of this year’s gala will be aired by the network later this summer, times and dates to be announced.

The Hall’s induction ceremonies open a packed weekend of competition at Sonoma Raceway, including the return of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, the ARCA Menards Series West and culminating Sunday, June 12 with the NASCAR Cup Series Toyota/Save Mart 350.

Elected for induction in the Class of 2022 are:

• Greg Biffle, NASCAR Xfinity and Craftsman Truck Series champion

• Garrett Evans, inaugural and four-time NASCAR Northwest Series champion

• Brendan Gaughan, two-time ARCA Menards Series champion

• David Gilliland, two-time ARCA Menards Series West championship crew chief

• John Moore, 2021 NASCAR State of California champion and Spears Racing League championship owner

• Jimmy Sills, three-time United States Auto Club Silver Crown champion

2022 Heritage inductees are:

• Art and Michael Atkinson, father and son officials and track operators

• Phil Casey, nine-time United States Auto Club national championship chief mechanic winner

• Ron Esau, 1996 NASCAR Southwest Series champion

• Phil Hill, first American-born Formula 1 champion

• Ken Sapper, three-time Saugus (Calif.) Speedway modified stock car champion

• Jim Walker, Riverside (Calif.) Raceway Permatex 300 winner and multiple Redwood Acres (Calif.) Raceway champion.

The 2nd Annual Knockin Doorz Down Philanthropist of the Year award, presented by 51FIFTY, will be presented to Speedway Children’s Charities, the charitable arm of Speedway Motorsports LLC. Speedway Motorsports LLC President Marcus Smith is expected to accept.

Serving again as master of ceremonies is Ralph Sheheen, owner and publisher of SPEED SPORT and West Coast Stock Car/Motorsports Hall of Fame president. The annual affair serves as the West Coast Stock Car/Motorsports Hall of Fame’s major charity fundraiser. The Hall, a 501 (c) 3 non-profit, has gifted more than $600,000 over the past five years.