Track limits have been a major topic of discussion among Formula One teams and drivers this season. (Clive Rose/Getty Images Photo)
Formula 1 officials have announced a 23-race schedule for 2022. (Clive Rose/Getty Images Photo)

23 Races, Two U.S. Dates On F-1 Calendar

PARIS – Formula 1 officials have announced the calendar for next season, which features a record 23 Grands Prix and two races in the United States for the first time since 1984.

The season will begin at the Bahrain Int’l Circuit in in Sakhir, Bahrain, on March 20 and end on Nov. 20 at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, U.A.E.  

Formula 1 returns to the United States for not one, but two races as the inaugural Miami Grand Prix is scheduled to take place on May 8 at the Miami Int’l Autodrome in Miami Gardens, Fla. Formula 1 will return on Oct. 23 with its annual visit to Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas, for the United States Grand Prix. 

Due to the ongoing pandemic conditions, China will not be a part of the calendar next year.

“The 2022 season follows an unprecedented two years for Formula 1 in which the COVID-19 pandemic resulted in revised calendar of 17 races in 2020 and 22 races in 2021 – a huge achievement given the international nature of the sport,” F-1 officials said in a statement. “It has been fantastic to welcome fans back to events this year, and we will continue to ensure this is done safely and in line with national guidelines.

“The pandemic has continued to present challenges to the 2021 season, but the entire sport has shown its ability to react and adapt to the challenges as they have arisen.

“While we hope the virus recedes further in the coming months for everyone around the world, we will continue to closely monitor the situation and work closely with the promoters and national authorities.”

2022 Formula 1 Schedule

March 20 – Bahrain Int’l Circuit, – Sakhir, Bahrain
March 27 – Jeddah Corniche Circuit – Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
April 10 – Albert Park Circuit – Melbourne, Australia
April 24 – Imola Circuit – Imola, Italy
May 8 – Miami Int’l Autodrome – Miami Gardens, Fla.
May 22 – Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya – Montmeló, Spain
May 29 – Circuit de Monaco – Monte Carlo, Monaco
June 12 – Baku City Circuit – Baku, Azerbaijan
June 19 – Circuit Gilles Villeneuve – Montreal, Quebec
July 3 – Silverstone Circuit – Silverstone, England
July 10 – Red Bull Ring – Spielberg, Austria
July 24 – Circuit Paul Ricard – Le Castellet, France
July 31 – Hungagoring – Mogyoród, Hungary
Aug. 28 – Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps – Stavelot, Belgium
Sept. 4 – Circuit Zandvoort – Zandvoort, Netherlands
Sept. 11 – Monza Circuit – Monza, Italy
Sept. 25 – Sochi Autodrom – Sochi, Russia
Oct. 2 – Marina Bay Street Circuit – Marina Bay, Singapore
Oct. 9 – Suzuka Int’l Racing Course – Suzuka, Japan
Oct. 23 – Circuit of the Americas – Austin, Texas
Oct. 30 – Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez – Mexico City, Mexico
Nov. 13 – Interlagos Circuit – Sao Paulo, Brazil
Nov. 20 – Yas Marina Circuit – Abu Dhabi, U.A.E.


error: Content is protected !!