Zack Riddle wins the NASCAR Late Model Feature. (Roy Ophime Photo)

Zack Riddle Does It Again in Late Models

OREGON, Wis. – Zack Riddle won the 30-lap feature for the NASCAR Late Models. It was his seventh win of the season and his twenty-seventh career win in the division at Madison International Speedway.

A pair of first time visitors in 2022, Steve Lichtfeld and Jerimy Wagner, paced the field to the green flag. Wagner took the early lead with Stephen Scheel and Bobby Wilberg up to second and third after two laps.

Scheel took the lead on lap 3. Wilberg moved up to second on lap 4 followed closely by Riddle. On lap 6 Wilberg worked to the inside of Scheel coming out of turn four. Wilberg was able to take the top spot on lap 8 with Riddle moving ahead of Scheel for second.

Wilberg and Riddle opened up a 10 car length lead over the third place car of Scheel at the half-way point. With ten laps to go, Wilberg was still out front by a car length over Riddle. On lap 21 Riddle worked to the inside of Wilberg coming out of turn four to take the lead and wasted no time opening up a sizeable advantage over Wilberg.

Riddle continued to run strong and kept the lead the rest of the way to pick up the victory. Wilberg finished second followed by Stephen Scheel, Jerimy Wagner, and Steve Lichtfeld.

Riddle thanked his crew for making everything possible and all of the hard work they put in from week to week. He also said he was ready to take on the field who will be out for the $1,000 bounty on August 19.

Riddle was fastest in qualifying with a lap of 18.855 (95.465 mph). Wilberg won the RA Heating and Air Conditioning Dash for the second time this year. Lichtfeld and Wilberg won the heat races.

Rick Coppernoll held off Ray Hellenbrand to win the 20-lap feature for the Dave’s White Rock MISfitz.

Carson Phillips won the 20-lap feature for the Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits.

For the second time this season, Eric Niemi won the 18 lap feature for the Roto Rooter 6Shooters.

The Finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 14ZR-Zack Riddle [7], 2. 28BW-Bobby Wilberg [6], 3. 4SS-Stephen Scheel [4], 4. 18JW-Jerimy Wagner [2], 5. 32SL-Steve Lichtfeld [1], 6. 19RO-Ronnie Osborne [8], 7. 37SR-Seth Reamer [3], 8. 8SS-Shaun Scheel [5], 9. 32PD-Paul Dygon [9]

error: Content is protected !!