Justin Bonsignore in victory lane at Stafford Motor Speedway.

Bonsignore Clinches Title In Style

STAFFORD SPRINGS, Conn. — Justin Bonsignore won Saturday night’s NAPA Auto Parts 150, the season finale for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, at Stafford Motor Speedway.

Anthony Nocella took the early race lead from pole position while Bonsignore slid from second at the start back to fifth place as Jon McKennedy took second. 

By lap 35, Doug Coby was starting to apply pressure to McKennedy in a fight for second place.  Coby took several looks to the inside of McKennedy, but McKennedy was able to hold Coby off and maintain second place. 

Coby was finally able to make a passing move on McKennedy on lap 54 to move into second as Nocella continued to lead the race.  Bonsignore followed Coby past McKennedy to move into third and drop McKennedy back to fourth with Woody Pitkat now in fifth just behind McKennedy.

Eric Goodale got by McKennedy to take over fifth place on lap 64, several laps after Pitkat had taken fourth from McKennedy as Nocella was still in the lead, but he now had Coby and Bonsignore right behind him in a 3-car train for the lead.

Bonsignore worked his way to the inside of Coby for second  on lap 69 but a lapped car prevented him from completing the pass.  Bonsignore again got to the inside of Coby on lap-70 and this time he was able to complete the pass for second. 

Pitkat and Goodale were both closing in on the lead trio to make it a five-way fight for the race lead.  Bonsignore was now applying heavy pressure to Nocella on lap 74 and he was able to make a pass to take the lead from Nocella on lap-78.  Pitkat took third from Coby on lap-79 with Goodale still in fifth.

With 90 laps complete the running order was Bonsignore followed by Pitkat, Coby, Lutz and Goodale. 

The first caution flew on lap-130 for debris on the track with Bonsignore still in the lead with Pitkat, Coby, Lutz, and Goodale making up the top five.  Bonsignore led the field on to pit road on lap-132 and he won the race off of pit road followed by Swanson, Coby, Goodale, Pitkat, Lutz, Patrick Emerling, Williams, Kyle Bonsignore and Tyler Rypkema.  

The race went back to green on lap-137 with Bonsignore taking the lead followed by Coby and Swanson.  Nocella was back up to fourth and Emerling was fifth. 

Nocella went by Swanson on lap 138 to take third and Emerling followed him through to take fourth and drop Swanson back to fifth.  Swanson spun in turn two with several other cars collected on lap 146 to bring the caution back out and set up a green white checkered finish.  

The lap-151 restart saw Coby briefly edge in front for the lead but Bonsignore was back in the lead to take the white flag. 

Bonsignore led Coby to the checkered flag to end an 0-for-40 streak at Stafford and clinch the 2021 Whelen Modified Tour championship in grand style. 

Emerling finished third with Kyle Bonsignore and Lutz rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Justin Bonsignore, Doug Coby, Patrick Emerling, Kyle Bonsignore, Craig Lutz, Anthony Nocella, Tyler Rypkema, Ronnie Silk, Eric Goodale, Ronnie Williams, Timmy Solomito, Jon McKennedy, Austin Beers, Stephen Kopcik, Joey Cipriano, Andrew Molleur, Matt Swanson, J.B. Fortin, Woody Pitkat, Dave Sapienza, Gary Putnam, C.J. Lehmann, Ken Heagy, Bobby Santos III, Gary McDonald, Melissa Fifield.

error: Content is protected !!