The Corning Museum of Glass has created this trophy for the winner of Sunday's Go Bowling 235 at Daytona Int'l Speedway.

Special Trophy For Daytona Road Course Winner

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — The winner of Sunday’s first NASCAR Cup Series race on the world famous trioval/road course at Daytona Int’l Speedway — the Go Bowling 235 — will win a special, one-of-a-kind trophy, produced by The Corning Museum of Glass.

Located 30 minutes away from Watkins Glen Int’l, The Corning Museum of Glass has created the work of art especially for the anticipated inaugural premier series event on the heralded road course.

Traditional glassmaking methods were used on the 18-inch tall and 4.5-inch wide prize, incorporating a blown glass cup that plays on the history of NASCAR (began in 1948), “The World Center of Racing” Daytona Int’l Speedway (opened in 1959), and Daytona Beach, the “Birthplace of Speed,” which dates back to 1903 when automotive competition began on the sands of the beach.

“Thinking about the history of the track and long-held traditions, I was reminded that historically, trophies used to be cups and have evolved into sculptural forms,” said Eric Meek, Sr. Manager of Hot Glass Programs at The Corning Museum of Glass, the foremost authority on the art, history, science and design of glass. “We took this trophy back to a more traditional shape. Daytona is the most historical track, and in thinking about a trophy design for a race held in this storied location, I was transported back to the golden age of speed. I wanted to design something that felt like a bit of a throwback — like it belonged in the era of streamline racers and the quest to go faster.”

The Corning Museum of Glass has partnered with Watkins Glen Int’l to design a trophy for its NASCAR Cup Series races since 2012.

“Typically we have created a trophy that embodies Watkins Glen International and the celebrated region in which it resides,” added Meek. “It’s a design that The Corning Museum of Glass has perfected each year, made especially for the drivers who claim victory in Watkins Glen. It’s always exciting to be a part of something that so many people love and we’re thrilled to continue the tradition this year at Daytona.”