North Wilkesboro Speedway, pictured in August, 2022. (HHP/Chris Owens photo)

Race Day Guide: North Wilkesboro Speedway

Five days remain until a full field of NASCAR Cup Series drivers line up on the aged asphalt at North Wilkesboro Speedway to contend this year’s All-Star Race.

But until then, there is plenty of racing to keep up with as fans await the return of NASCAR’s premier class to the .625-mile oval. The last NASCAR-sanctioned race at the short track took place in 1996.

The ASA STARS National Tour was scheduled to jumpstart the week with the ECMD 150 on Tuesday night, but as the program was canceled by rain, it will now take place in conjunction with the CARS Tour event on Wednesday. From there, it’s full steam ahead to Saturday’s NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race and Sunday’s crown jewel — the All-Star Race, paying $1 million to win.

Here is a rundown on the remaining on-track action at North Wilkesboro Speedway.

(All times ET.)


Gate open at 11:30 a.m. on Wednesday, with the first practice for the pro late model (PLM) and late model stock (LMS) classes beginning at 11:45 a.m.

The ASA STARS Last Chance Qualifier will run at 1:45 p.m., with CARS Tour PLM qualifying starting at 2:30 p.m. and LMS qualifying following at 3:30 p.m.

The PLM field will line up for the Crossroads Harley-Davidson 75 at 5:45 p.m. The 38-car field will run 100 laps. Notable entries include IMSA star Jordan Taylor, as well as Truck Series drivers Carson Hocevar and Corey Heim.

The LMS class will follow with the running of the Window World 125 at approximately 7:30 p.m. Also a 38-car field, the race will be 125 laps. Notable entries include Dale Earnhardt Jr., as well as Cup Series regulars Kevin Harvick, Ross Chastain, Chase Briscoe and Daniel Suarez.

Finally, the night will end with the running of the postponed ECMD 150 for the ASA STARS drivers, with the 150-lap race going green at approximately 9:45 p.m.

FRIDAY — NASCAR Practice, Pit Crew Challenge

Gates open at noon on Friday, with Truck Series practice commencing at 3:05 p.m.

The Cup Series will take to the track at 4:05 p.m. for practice, including both All-Star and Open entries. The Pit Crew Challenge is set to follow at 5:45 p.m. The unique challenge will require teams to perform a four-tire pit stop without adding fuel.

The recorded times will determine pit position for Sunday’s All-Star Race.

SATURDAY — Truck Series, Tyson 250

Gate open at 10 a.m. on Saturday, with Truck Series qualifying beginning at 10:30 a.m.

It will be a quick turnaround for Truck Series drivers, as the Tyson 250 will commence at 1:30 p.m. The race is 250 laps, with stage breaks at lap 70, 140 and 250.

The evening program will include the Cup Series heat races — both 60 laps.

The first heat race begins at 7:35 p.m. and will determine inside row starting positions for the 22 drivers already locked into the field. The second heat race, which will set outside row starting positions, is scheduled for approximately 8:15 p.m.

Drivers will begin on sticker tires, with one additional set available in the pit box.

SUNDAY — Cup Series, All-Star Race

Gates open at 1 p.m. on Sunday, with initial driver introductions set for 5:10 p.m.

First on the slate is the All-Star Open, which is set for 5:30 p.m. It will be 100 laps, with a competition break on or around lap 40. The top two finishers will transfer directly into the All-Star Race, while one driver will be selected by fan vote. Drivers will start on sticker tires, with one additional set available in the pit box.

The second event on Sunday is the long-anticipated All-Star Race, starting at 8 p.m.

The 200-lap race will involve a competition break on or around lap 100. The full Cup Series field will feature 25 cars on the .625-mile track. Drivers will start on sticker tires, with three additional sets available in the pit box. However, after the competition break, only one additional set of sticker tires will be permitted for use.  

The winner will take an illustrious elevator ride to North Wilkesboro’s victory lane, located on the rooftop of the infield media center, and take home the $1 million winner’s check. Ryan Blaney was last year’s All-Star Race winner at Texas Motor Speedway.