Invert Puts Preece
Ryan Preece will start from the NASCAR Cup Series pole Sunday at Pocono Raceway. (HHP/Harold Hinson photo)

Invert Puts Preece On Sunday Pocono Cup Pole

LONG POND, Pa. – For the second time this season, finishing 20th in the first half of a NASCAR Cup Series doubleheader paid dividends for Ryan Preece.

The JTG Daugherty Racing driver will start from the pole in Sunday’s Pocono 350 at Pocono Raceway, courtesy of an inversion of the top-20 finishers from Saturday’s 325-mile race at the tri-cornered race track.

Preece snagged the all-important 20th spot inside of 10 to go Saturday evening, after Joey Logano cut down a tire and fell out of the top half of the running order after making an unscheduled pit stop under green.

The Berlin, Conn., driver will be joined on the front row by Austin Dillon, with Kurt Busch and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. starting third and fourth, respectively.

Chevrolets inhabit the top four positions on the grid for the second half of the weekend double.

The Fords of rookie Cole Custer and Ryan Newman make up row three, with William Byron, Matt DiBenedetto, Ryan Blaney and Matt Kenseth filling out the top 10 starters.

Saturday winner Kevin Harvick rolls off 20th after earning his first Pocono victory in the opening act of the twinbill. It was his 52nd career Cup Series win and third of the season.

Jimmie Johnson just missed the invert and starts 21st, while 2018 Cup champion Joey Logano rolls from 36th after his tire issue led to damage to the No. 22 Ford.

Sunday’s Pocono 350 is scheduled to go green at 4 p.m. ET, live on FS1, the Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, channel 90.

Starting lineup for the NASCAR Cup Series Pocono 350:

  1. Ryan Preece
  2. Austin Dillon
  3. Kurt Busch
  4. Ricky Stenhouse
  5. Cole Custer
  6. Ryan Newman
  7. William Byron
  8. Matt DiBenedetto
  9. Ryan Blaney
  10. Matt Kenseth
  11. Chris Buescher
  12. Brad Keselowski
  13. Michael McDowell
  14. Clint Bowyer
  15. Martin Truex Jr.
  16. Kyle Busch
  17. Christopher Bell
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Denny Hamlin
  20. Kevin Harvick
  21. Jimmie Johnson
  22. Bubba Wallace
  23. Corey LaJoie
  24. John Hunter Nemechek
  25. Chase Elliott
  26. Ty Dillon
  27. Alex Bowman
  28. Daniel Suarez
  29. Brennan Poole
  30. Tyler Reddick
  31. JJ Yeley
  32. Josh Bilicki
  33. Garrett Smithley
  34. James Davison
  35. Timmy Hill
  36. Joey Logano
  37. Joey Gase
  38. Erik Jones
  39. BJ McLeod
  40. Quin Houff
error: Content is protected !!