#4: John Hunter Nemechek, Kyle Busch Motorsports, Toyota Tundra Mobil 1
John Hunter Nemechek (Toyota Racing photo)

Nemechek Starts First For Kansas Truck Series Go

KANSAS CITY, Kan. – John Hunter Nemechek will start first Saturday at Kansas Speedway in search of his third NASCAR Camping World Truck Series win of the season.

Nemechek, the driver of the No. 4 Toyota Tundra, received the Cometic Gasket Pole Award courtesy of the highest metric score among the 40 trucks entered to compete.

Lap speed is weighted at 15 percent, previous race finish at 25 percent for the driver and owner results and owner points position at 35 percent to calculate the final metric score.

Nemechek earned the pole with a metric score of 1.3, factoring in his win from Richmond (Va.) Raceway, the third-fastest lap from that event and his top seeding in the owner point standings after six of 22 races this season.

The 23-year-old’s boss, Kyle Busch Motorsports owner Kyle Busch, will roll off second in his penultimate Truck Series start of the season. Ben Rhodes, Johnny Sauter and Chandler Smith – a third KBM driver – fill out a Toyota sweep of the front five starting spots.

Sixth through 10th on the grid are Todd Gilliland, Austin Hill, Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith and Stewart Friesen.

Christian Eckes starts 17th in his return to the No. 98 ThorSport Racing Toyota, while NASCAR Cup Series regular Chase Briscoe rolls from 30th in the No. 04 Roper Racing Ford.

Ross Chastain, back with Niece Motorsports in the No. 44 Chevrolet, starts 34th.

To view the complete starting lineup and metric qualifying breakdown, click here.

Saturday’s Wise Power 200 is scheduled for a 7:30 p.m. ET start, with live coverage on FS1, the Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, channel 90.

error: Content is protected !!