Jimmie Johnson's experiment in sports cars is an important part of his upcoming experiment in the NTT IndyCar Series.

Marlar Among Truck Series Heat Race Polesitters

BRISTOL, Tenn. – Mike Marlar knows a thing or two about heat races on dirt tracks, and he’ll have a shot to show off that experience from the front of the field Saturday at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Marlar was revealed Thursday as the polesitter for one of the four heat races that will help set the field for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Pinty’s Dirt Truck Race at the dirt-covered .533-mile oval.

The 2018 World of Outlaws Late Model Series champion will bring the first 15-lap heat to the green flag.

Myatt Snider, Hailie Deegan and JR Heffner also received pole starting positions in their respective heat races. The lineups for the quartet of qualifying contests were determined by a random pill draw.

Only green-flag laps in each of the four heat races will count. No overtime rule will be in effect for the heats, but free-pass and wave-around procedures will be utilized.

The lineup for the 150-lap feature on Saturday night will be determined by a formula that awards points for heat finishing position and bonus points for every position advanced during the heat race.

Each heat winner will earn 10 points, dropping by one point per position back to a single point for drivers finishing 10th or worse. With 44 drivers entered, 11 trucks will lineup in each heat race.

Drivers then earn one passing point for every position gained during their heat race, with no point deductions for those drivers losing positions in their heat race.

Ties in combined point totals will be broken by the current car owner point standings.

Among the notable dirt-track aces in the field, Stewart Friesen will roll from fifth in the first heat, while wife Jessica Friesen starts eighth in the second heat. Kyle Larson grids up ninth in heat three.

The full starting lineups for all four NASCAR Camping World Truck Series heat races are below.

Coverage of the heat races for the Pinty’s Dirt Truck Race begins at 4:30 p.m. ET Saturday, live on FS1.

Pinty’s Dirt Truck Race Heat Race Lineups

Heat One

  1. 56-Mike Marlar
  2. 12-Tate Fogleman
  3. 34-Jake Griffin
  4. 23-Chase Purdy
  5. 52-Stewart Friesen
  6. 26-Tyler Ankrum
  7. 18-Chandler Smith
  8. 11-Bubba Wallace
  9. 22-Austin Wayne Self
  10. 17-Kevin Harvick
  11. 16-Austin Hill

Heat Two

  1. 33-Myatt Snider
  2. 40-Ryan Truex
  3. 13-Johnny Sauter
  4. 15-Tanner Gray
  5. 75-Parker Kligerman
  6. 51-Martin Truex Jr.
  7. 4-John Hunter Nemechek
  8. 62-Jessica Friesen
  9. 10-Jennifer Jo Cobb
  10. 88-Matt Crafton
  11. 25-Timothy Peters

Heat Three

  1. 1-Hailie Deegan
  2. 42-Carson Hocevar
  3. 24-Raphael Lessard
  4. 83-Trevor Collins
  5. 98-Grant Enfinger
  6. 45-Brett Moffitt
  7. 20-Spencer Boyd
  8. 02-Daniel Suarez
  9. 44-Kyle Larson
  10. 6-Norm Benning
  11. 04-Chase Briscoe

Heat Four

  1. 3-JR Heffner
  2. 38-Todd Gilliland
  3. 39-Ryan Newman
  4. 49-Andrew Gordon
  5. 9-Codie Rohrbaugh
  6. 21-Zane Smith
  7. 30-Danny Bohn
  8. 2-Sheldon Creed
  9. 41-Cody Erickson
  10. 99-Ben Rhodes
  11. 19-Derek Kraus
error: Content is protected !!