Ty Gibbs won Saturday's ARCA Menards Series race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. (Hadley Green/ARCA Racing)
Ty Gibbs won Saturday's ARCA Menards Series race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. (Hadley Green/ARCA Racing)

A Saturday Charlotte Sweep For Ty Gibbs

CONCORD, N.C. – One victory wasn’t enough for Ty Gibbs Saturday at Charlotte Motor Speedway, so he decided to make it two.

Gibbs dominated the ARCA Menards Series General Tire 150 Saturday evening at the 1.5-mile speedway for his second victory of the day and his fourth ARCA Menards Series victory of the season. He won the NASCAR Xfinity Series Alsco Uniforms 300 earlier in the day.

While the record book will show Gibbs led every lap, he didn’t go unchallenged. During a restart with 35 laps left Nick Sanchez briefly drove around the outside of Gibbs to take the race lead.

However, Gibbs was able to get under Sanchez through turns three and four to retake the lead before they reached the start/finish line. Once back out front, Gibbs was able to drive away and leave Sanchez to battle Jack Wood for second.

A final caution with 10 laps left when Jason Miles crashed down the backstretch gave the field one last shot at Gibbs, but Gibbs pulled away during the restart with two laps left to earn the victory.

“It was a long day, really cool. I feel like the emotions haven’t really set in,” Gibbs said. “I feel like I’ve got my racing adrenaline still going. It’s just wonderful. It was a heck of a day.”

The Venturini Motorsports trio of Corey Heim, Drew Dollar and Parker Chase pitted during the final caution flag for tires and were able to come home second, third and fourth, respectively. Chase nearly crashed coming across the finish line after making contact with Nick Sanchez, who settled for fifth after starting the last lap in second.

The finish:

Ty Gibbs, Corey Heim, Drew Dollar, Parker Chase, Nick Sanchez, Jack Wood, Thad Moffitt, Dave Mader III, Andy Jankowiak, Chris Hacker, Jason Kitzmiller, Kyle Sieg, Tim Richmond, Greg Van Alst, Max Gutierrez, Scott Melton, Owen Smith, Charles Buchanan, Brad Smith, Toni Breidinger, Jason Miles, Tony Cosentino, D.L. Wilson.

error: Content is protected !!