MotoGP officials have announced a 21-race schedule for the 2022 season.
MotoGP officials have announced a 21-race schedule for the 2022 season. (Ducati Photo)

21 Rounds, Two New Venues On MotoGP Schedule

The provisional 2022 FIM MotoGP World Championship calendar, consisting of 21 rounds beginning in March and ending in November, has been released.

The schedule includes two new venues in Indonesia and Finland.

The season begins under the lights in Qatar on March 6-8. The series visits the new Mandalika International Street Circuit for the first time on March 18-20. After a weekend off, an Argentina and Americas doubleheader kicks off April in style, with a trip to Portimao on the April 22-24 acting as the first European race of the season.

A short trip down to Jerez for the Spanish GP follows the Portuguese GP on the April 29-May 1, with the French, Italian, Catalan, German and Dutch GPs taking place in May and June. From July 8-10, before the three-week summer break, the MotoGP paddock heads to the KymiRing for the first Finnish GP since 1982.

The British GP at Silverstone gets the series back into the swing of things for the second half of the season on the Aug. 5-8, with the Austrian GP and Red Bull Ring hosting round 14 on the Aug. 19-21. The San Marino GP at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli takes place on the Sept. 2-4.

The riders and teams will race at MotorLand Aragon on Sept. 16-18, before the paddock heads straight to the Twin Ring Motegi for the Japanese GP on Sept. 23-25. A week later, a return to Thailand is on the cards from Sept. 30 to Oct. 2.

The MotoGP circus then travels to Australia and the classic Phillip Island on Oct. 14-16, with the Malaysian GP coming up a week later on Oct. 21-23 – the penultimate round of the campaign. The traditional final round of the season venue will be Valencia’s Circuit Ricardo Tormo, as the curtain closer takes place on Nov. 4-6.

2022 MotoGP Schedule

March 6 – Losail Int’l Circuit – Lusail, Qatar
March 20 – Mandalika International Street Circuit – Central Lombok Regency, Indonesia
April 3 – Autódromo Termas de Río Hondo – Termas de Río Hondo, Argentina
April 10 – Circuit of the Americas – Austin, Texas
April 24 – Algarve International Circuit – Portimão, Portugal
May 1 – Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto – Jerez de la Frontera, Spain
May 15 – Circuit Bugatti – Le Mans, France
May 29 – Autodromo Internazionale del Mugello – Scarperia e San Piero, Italy
June 5 – Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya – Montmeló, Spain
June 19 – Sachsenring – Hohenstein-Ernstthal, Germany
June 26 – TT Circuit Assen – Assen, Netherlands
July 10 – Kymi Ring – Iitti, Finland
Aug. 7 – Silverstone Circuit – Silverstone, England
Aug. 21 – Red Bull Ring – Spielberg, Austria
Sept. 4 – Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli – Misano Adriatico, Italy
Sept. 18 – Motorland Aragón – Alcañiz, Spain
Sept. 25 – Twin Ring Motegi – Motegi, Japan
Oct. 2 – Chang International Circuit – Buriram, Thailand
Oct. 16 – Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit – Phillip Island, Australia
Oct. 23 – Sepang International Circuit – Sepang, Malaysia
Nov. 6 – Circuit Ricardo Tormo – Valencia, Spain

error: Content is protected !!