Ryan Dungey. (Spencer Owens/Align Media photo)

Dungey, Langston Among 16 Nominees For AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame

The AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame has announced 16 nominees for the class of 2023.

Each nominee represents one of eight areas of influence — including Ambassadors & Industry, Design & Engineering, Dirt Track, Leadership & Rights, Motocross & Supercross, Off-Road, Road Racing and Specialty Competition.

Headlining the list of Competition nominees is eight-time AMA champion Ryan Dungey, who falls under the Supercross & Motocross category. Four-time AMA champion Grant Langston has also been nominated for the same area of influence.

Jim Belland and Brent Thompson have been nominated for Dirt Track, Barry Hawk for Off Road, Eraldo Ferracci for Road Racing and Ryan Young for Specialty Competition.

As for Non-Competition nominees, action sports star Travis Pastrana headlines as a representative of Ambassadors & Industry. He is joined by Rita Coombs, Robert Coy, Paul Schlegel and Buddy Stubbs. Michael Czysz and Barry Willey have been nominated for Design & Engineering. Rodney Roberts and Rick Sieman were nominated for Leadership & Rights.

“The AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame nominees for 2023 include a diverse and accomplished group of men and women who’ve demonstrated exceptional achievements in competition, advocacy and promotion of the sport of motorcycling,” said AMA president and CEO Rob Dingman.

“They have contributed significantly to the advancement of motorcycling in various areas, from excelling in dirt track, motocross and road racing competition, to advocating for motorcyclists’ rights, to creating enduring events that have helped grow motorcycling, to creating innovative motorcycle designs.”

Voting for the Class of 2023 is now open and will end Sunday, June 18. Voters will include previous HoF inductees, members of the AMA and AMHF Board of Directions and members of the AMA Motorcycle HoF Category Selection Committees. AMA Life Members who have more than 25 years of consecutive membership can also vote.

The induction ceremony will be held on Sept. 15 in Pickerington, Ohio.