Rothwell Strikes At Afton

AFTON, N.Y. – Jim Rothwell took the lead with three laps to go to win night No. 1 of the American Racer Cup Short Track SuperNationals weekend Friday at Afton Motorsports Park.

Rothwell claimed the $1,500 payday in the 30-lap event from the fifth-starting spot, a night capped off by winning the American Racer Cup Sportsman Match Races. Rothwell claimed an extra $1,000 for his match race win, as well as the $500 Gambler’s Fee.

In total, Rothwell brought home $3,050 for his efforts, including a $50 bonus from the New York State Stock Car Association.

Welty finished in second and Talbot rounded out the podium. Charlie Hendrickson Jr. held on to a fourth-place run and Blaine Klinger rounded out the top five.

The Modifieds of the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco were on hand, taking timed hot laps to lock two drivers into tonight’s Hurlock Auto & Speed Supply North Region championship race.

More than 30 Modifieds took part in the shakedown for Saturday’s Working Man’s Race 50-lap event.

Justin Holland (14.693 seconds) and Allison Ricci (14.735 seconds) were the fastest in each timed session on the night. Holland and Ricci are both locked in to the redraw for tonight’s event.

Jeff Trombley won the dramatic 30-lap CRSA Sprint Car race. Trombley made a late race pass around Jordan Hutton to pick up the win. Ron Greek rounded out the top three.

Trombley officially clinched the CRSA championship with the victory.

Tyler Ulsh won the 15-lap slingshot main event. 

Racing resumes tonight as the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco will crown its champions. The Hurlock Auto & Speed North Region Modifieds and the Precision Hydraulic & Oil North Region Crate 602 Sportsman will round out their championship chases as well.

The STSS Modifieds will race for 50-laps in the 13th edition of the $5,500-to-win Working Man’s Race. The STSS Crate 602 Sportsman will race for 25 laps around the three-tenths mile oval in a $1,500-to-win main event.

The finish:

Jim Rothwell, Dale Welty, Payton Talbot, Charlie Hendrickson Jr., Blaine Klinger, Tim Hartman Jr., Michael Ballestero, Gene Beadle, A.J. Digsby, Allan Hodge, Brandon Loucks, Jeffry Gallup, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Hunter Lapp, James Gould, Jim Cummings, John Williams, Ava Coons, Gary Smith, Rich Powell, Damon Decker, Ray Leonard, Bobby Hackel IV, Allan Hammond, Rich Ricci III, Michael Grover.

error: Content is protected !!