Marsdav1 07 26 22 (311)mikeruefer
Hudson O'Neal in victory lane at Davenport Speedway. (Mike Ruefer photo)

O’Neal Grabs $10,000 Davenport Prize

DAVENPORT, Iowa — The MARS DIRTcar Series invaded Davenport Speedway on Tuesday to compete in the Hoker 50 for a shot at $10,000.

In the main event, the Hoker 50, it was all Hudson O’Neal. The Matinsville, Indiana racer led all 50 laps from the pole, but it was not easy. O’Neal’s victory was his second $10,000 win at Davenport Speedway this month.

Hudson had to fight off the challenges of Mike Marlar, Devin Moran and Bobby Pierce for the win. Pierce was putting on the pressure in the final 15 laps. Pierce got to O’Neal’s rear bumper, tried a couple of sliders, but was unable to make the pass for the win.

Moran took third ahead of Max Blair. Marlar ran second early in the race, before sliding back to a fifth-place finish. 

The best local finisher was Justin Kay, who started 20th and finished in seventh place.

Five drivers crushed the track record in qualifying. Devin Moran turned the fastest lap, in a mere 13.333 seconds.

Matt Werner picked up his third straight Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modified feature win.

Jeff Struck Jr. continues to pile up the victories in Koehler Electric Street Stock action.

The finish:

Feature (50 laps): 1. Hudson O’Neal; 2. Bobby Pierce; 3. Devin Moran; 4. Max Blair; 5. Mike Marlar; 6. Ryan Unzicker; 7. Justin Kay; 8. Chris Simpson; 9. Jeff Larson; 10. Jason Feger; 11. Nick Hoffman; 12. Josh Richards; 13. Tommy Sheppard Jr.; 14. Trevor Gundaker; 15. Gordy Gundaker; 16. Dylan Thompson; 17. Rich Bell; 18. Bob Gardner; 19. Jonathan Davenport; 20. Frank Heckenast Jr.; 21. Charlie McKenna; 22. Mason Zeigler; 23. Boom Briggs; 24. Jeff Massingill; 25. Jimmy Owens; 26. Jonathan Huston; 27. David Webster;

error: Content is protected !!