Billy Moyer 040221
Billy Moyer (left) in victory lane at Poplar Bluff Motorsports Complex.

Moyer Takes Poplar Bluff COMP Cams Run

POPLAR BLUFF, Mo. – For the first time in more than a decade, the stars and cars of the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil thundered into Poplar Bluff Motorsports Park on Friday night.

The series’ return to the three-eighths-mile oval for the first time since 2007 found Dirt Late Model Hall of Famer Billy Moyer visiting COMP Cams Victory Lane.

The Arkansas racer overcame a green-white-checkered finish that saw the originally-scheduled 30 lapper extend into a lap-31 overtime.

Moyer snared the lead from polesitter Hunter Rasdon on the second circuit and held the top spot throughout the remainder of the event to claim the $3,000 top prize, which marked his 13th-career CCSDS win.

Eighth-starting Tony Jackson Jr. crossed the finish line in second, with Brian Rickman, Billy Moyer Jr., and 20th-starting Ashton Winger rounding out the top-five finishers.

Hunter Rasdon ran in the top five throughout the feature before mechanical woes relegated him to a 17th-place finish on the final lap.

Saturday, April 3 will find the CCSDS contingent trekking west to Gary Stolba’s Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo., for a $3,000-to-win and $400-to-start event.

The finish:

1. Billy Moyer, 2. Tony Jackson Jr., 3. Brian Rickman, 4. Billy Moyer Jr., 5. Ashton Winger, 6. B.J. Robinson, 7. Logan Martin, 8. Mason Oberkramer, 9. Rick Rickman, 10. Austin Rettig, 11. Morgan Bagley, 12. Mike Collins, 13. Todd Hall, 14. Brayden Proctor, 15. Wesley Wise, 16. Scott Crigler, 17. Hunter Rasdon, 18. Robby Moore, 19. Jesse Stovall, 20. Chad Mallett, 21. Brett Frazier, 22. Kyle Beard.

error: Content is protected !!