Chris Madden (44) leads Dale McDowell at 411 Motor Speedway. (Michael Moats photo)
Chris Madden (44) leads Dale McDowell at 411 Motor Speedway. (Michael Moats photo)

Madden Stops McDowell In Tennessee

SEYMOUR, Tenn. — Chris Madden captured his fourth Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series by Sunoco Race Fuels victory of the season on Friday night at 411 Motor Speedway. Madden earned $10,053.

Madden and Cory Hedgecock would bring the field to the green flag to begin the main event, with Hedgecock edging past Madden to secure the lead, with Dale McDowell, Ross Bailes and Brandon Overton trailing Madden.

Hedgecock and Madden would quickly put some race track between themselves and third-place running McDowell by lap 10 and by lap 12, Hedgecock and Madden would begin lapping slower cars, allowing Madden to close in on Hedgecock.

Meanwhile, Overton would begin to challenge Bailes for the fourth position and Overton would take the spot away from Bailes on lap 15. Hedgecock and Madden would both work in and out of slower traffic in a timely manner, with both getting clear track on lap 28.

Madden began to challenge Hedgecock for the race lead and on lap 31, Hedgecock would slide up the track somewhat entering turn one, allowing Madden to dive under Hedgecock, with the pair racing side-by-side for the lead until Madden would slide in front Hedgecock exiting turn four.

With Madden beginning to distance himself from Hedgecock, McDowell would charge and catch Hedgecock and McDowell would snag the runner-up slot on lap 37.

Madden would continue to have to work in and out of slower traffic and McDowell would close the distance between himself and Madden in the closing laps of the event, but Madden would see the checkered flag first in the caution-free event and score the victory over McDowell, with Hedgecock holding off a fast-closing Overton to finish third while Bailes would round out the top five.

The finish:

Chris Madden, Dale McDowell, Cory Hedgecock, Brandon Overton, Ross Bailes, Kyle Hardy, Donald McIntosh, Ryan King, Pearson Lee, Tyler Millwood, Vic Hill, Jensen Ford, Heath Hindman, David Payne, David Brannon, Clay Coghlan, Michael Chilton, Logan Roberson, Colton Burdette, John Baker, Jake Knowles, Riley Hickman.