Hokerdav1 09 24 22 (408)mikeruefer
Justin Kay scored his second Yankee championship on Saturday night at Davenport Speedway. (Mike Ruefer photo)

Kay Claims SLMR Victory At Yankee Dirt Track Classic

DAVENPORT, Iowa — Night two of the 45th annual Yankee Dirt Track Classic was one for the record books. It will certainly be an unforgettable night of racing for Justin Kay.

Kay scored his second Yankee championship. His first came in 2019.

The featured class of the evening was a combined event for SLMR with both Hoker Trucking East Series and Malvern Bank West Series drivers. There were 49 late models signed into the pits, vying for the $6,045 top prize.

The 60-lap late model A-main was a blur, as the race went caution free. Nick Marolf jumped out to the early lead from the pole starting position. Marolf held the top spot until lap fifteen when engine problems forced him to retire early.

Kay inherited the lead and was quickly under attack from Jeff Larson and Tyler Bruening. As the laps flew by, Kay started to pull away. At the checkers, Justin had a 2.8 second advantage over Larson.

Tad Pospisil moved up to finish third with Bruening fourth and Chad Holladay rounding out the top five. Sixth place Joel Callahan was the last car on the lead lap.

The six late model heat race wins went to Holladay, Derrick Stewart, Corey Dripps, Jeff Tharp, Jason Hahne and Jesse Sobbing. B-mains were won by Matt Ryan and Jeff Aikey. 

Brad Dierks dominated the IMCA Modified feature.

Dierks led 24 of the 25 laps in the race. Jarrett Brown was the only one close to Dierks, finishing nearly a straightaway behind. Bryce Garnhart started 13th, but would finish third. Charlie Mohr led lap one, but wound up fourth. Eric Barnes completed the top five.

Just 29 of the 30 mods on hand started the feature.

Tony Olson passed Logan Veloz on the high side to take the feature win in the IMCA SportMod main. Olson started 12th and leap-frogged his way to fifth by the end of lap one. Olson made the pass for the lead on lap seven and held on the rest of the way for the win.

Veloz had to hold off Tyler Soppe to finish second. Perry Gellerstedt and Ryan Schilling rounded out the top five in the feature.  

The wildest race of the night had to be the street stock feature. Joe Bonney had the early lead. When Bonney and Jake Lund got into a tussle on lap nine, both went to the back from the ensuing caution flag.

Daron Oberbroeckling took the lead. Oberbroeckling was in front until five laps to go, when Jeff Struck grabbed the point on the highside. Coming to the white flag, Oberbroeckling stormed back to the lead, holding off Struck by 0.018 seconds.

Following Struck in third was Rob Henry. Jeff Hartzell finished fourth with Landen Chrestensen fifth.

Chase Brunscheen won the Mini Late Model feature. Kyle Pearson and Ethan Kammerude were second and third respectively.

There were 129 cars on hand for Saturday’s races with the two-day total of over 200 cars.