Dale McDowell en route to victory at 411 Motor Speedway. (Michael Moats photo)
Dale McDowell en route to victory at 411 Motor Speedway. (Michael Moats photo)

McDowell Dials 411 For 10 Grand

SEYMOUR, Tenn. — Dale McDowell led all 53 laps of Friday night’s Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels feature at 411 Motor Speedway.

McDowell became the sixth different winner in eight series events contested to this point in the season and the race marked the first caution-free 53-lap event in tour history.

McDowell earned $10,000 for his fourth career victory in the series.

McDowell would take the lead at the start with Brandon Overton, Donald McIntosh, Ryan King, and Dakotah Knuckles giving chase. The front five would remain the same as McDowell would start lapping slower traffic on lap nine and would get into heavy traffic by lap 14, allowing Overton to close the distance between himself and McDowell.

With the lead duo working in and out of slower traffic, Cory Hedgecock would take fourth from Ryan King on lap 21 and three circuits later, Kyle Strickler would claim the fifth position. McDowell and Overton would continue their march through slower traffic up front, while Strickler would score the fourth position away from Hedgecock on lap 31.

Meanwhile, 12th– starter Ross Bailes would slice his way toward the front as he would take the fifth position on lap thirty-three. The final 20 circuits would see McDowell be dogged by Overton for the top spot, with Overton looking under McDowell on several occasions for the lead, but would be unable to make the pass.

The final three laps would see Overton continue to challenge McDowell for the lead, however, McDowell would see the checkered flag first, with Overton settling for second, while McIntosh would come home in the third position. Strickler and Bailes would round out the top five.

The finish:

Dale McDowell, Brandon Overton, Donald McIntosh, Kyle Strickler, Ross Bailes, Michael Chilton, Cory Hedgecock, Ryan King, Jason Jameson, Tanner English, Cla Knight, Dakotah Knuckles, Vic Hill, Aaron Ridley, Jake Knowles, David Payne, Tyler Clem, Mack McCarter, Kenny Collins, John Ownbey, Cameron Marlar, Craig Greer.


error: Content is protected !!