Jonathan Davenport 050821 Millie Tanner Photo
Jonathan Davenport (49) battles traffic en route to victory Saturday at Batesville Motor Speedway. (Millie Tanner photo)

Davenport Completes Bad Boy 98 Weekend Sweep

LOCUST GROVE, Ark. – Saturday night saw Georgia’s Jonathan Davenport complete a sweep of the Bad Boy 98 weekend at Batesville Motor Speedway.

From his outside-front-row starting position Davenport led all 68 laps of Saturday night’s COMP Cams Super Dirt Series event at the three-eighths-mile dirt oval. He received $12,000 for his second-straight CCSDS triumph and with the victory, pushed his weekend earnings to more than $17,000.

While the pilot of the No. 49 maintained the top spot throughout the finale, he had to endure a late-race challenge from polesitter, Brian Rickman.

“Rickman, he must’ve been pretty good there. I couldn’t find the rubber there, after that caution. I had me a really good rhythm going before that last caution,” Davenport said. “I guess we just rode around there so long (under caution) that (the track) bled back just a little bit, and I think the rubber actually moved down. The further down I moved, the little bit better we was.

“That’s just racing in the rubber. Sometimes you’re a sitting duck when you’re out front. Like here in Arkansas you can’t really see the rubber like down South where I’m from, it’ll actually turn red so you can really see it pretty good. We’ll just ride this wave as long as we can. Like I said, my guys have been working really hard and we’re steadily trying to progress and get better and better. We actually made a lot of changes from last night, and I think we were really, really good there. “

Rickman crossed the finish line in second, while 10th-starting Timothy Culp was third. Billy Moyer and B.J. Robinson completed the top-five finishers.

On the heels of his weekend consistency, Brian Rickman has taken over the top spot in the latest series standings by 40 markers over Logan Martin. B.J Robinson is 65 points back with Kyle Bear and Hunter Rasdon in tow.

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series teams will be idle next weekend before resuming the season on May 21-22 with a doubleheader at Central Arkansas Speedway and Greenville (Miss.) Speedway.

The finish:

1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Brian Rickman, 3. Timothy Culp, 4. Billy Moyer, 5. B.J. Robinson, 6. Scott Crigler, 7. Neil Baggett, 8. Spencer Hughes, 9. Logan Martin, 10. Hunter Rasdon, 11. Billy Moyer Jr., 12. Mike Collins, 13. Brayden Proctor, 14. Morgan Bagley, 15. Austin Vincent, 16. Donnie Barnhart, 17. Ross Farmer, 18. Terry Phillips, 19. Ashton Winger, 20. Kaeden Cornell, 21. Jamie Elam, 22. David Payne, 23. Mike Myers, 24. Kyle Beard, 25. Jon Mitchell, 26. Travis Ashley.

error: Content is protected !!