Dale McDowell Melts Volunteer Ice

BULLS GAP, Tenn. – Dale McDowell bested a game Jimmy Owens to win the Ultimate Southeast Super Late Model Series Spring Thaw Thursday evening at Volunteer Speedway.

Owens started from the pole and took the lead for the first time on lap 14 of the 50-lap race from second-place starter Michael Chilton. Once out front Owens soon found himself under pressure from McDowell. McDowell’s persistence paid off when he got by Owens in lap traffic on lap 32.

McDowell would leader the remainder of the distance to earn a $10,000 payday while Owens chased him home in second, more than two seconds behind.

Brandon Overton ended up third, followed by Shanon Buckingham and Ross Bailes.

The finish:

Dale McDowell, Jimmy Owens, Brandon Overton, Shanon Buckingham, Ross Bailes, Donald McIntosh, Zack Mitchell, Vic Hill, Robby Moses, Michael Chilton, Ryan King, Billy Moyer Jr., Trent Forrest, Cla Knight, Dakotah Knuckles, Chicky Barton, Josh Sneed, Cory Hedgecock, Daulton Wilson, Anthony Sanders, Steve Smith, Ahnna Parkhurst, John Tweed.

error: Content is protected !!