16 Races For Iron-Man Championship Late Models

SOMERSET, Ky. — Officials from the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series have released the 16-race schedule of events for next season.

The tour will visit eight race tracks in a two-state area and will boast prize money in excess of $348,000 for the 16 events. Drivers’ longest travel between the two furthest race tracks is a three hour drive, so drivers will have less travel time and be able to run for extra purse money and a year-end points fund which will be released at a later date.

Drivers will be allowed to drop their worst finish at the seasons end. The tour will co-sanction events with the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals and Schaeffer’s Oil Fall Nationals on a few occasions.

The sixth season will open on April 11 with the largest paying event ever on the tour with a visit to Gary Hall’s Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway for a 75-lap, $20,000-to-win show paying $1,000-to-start the main event. The tour will also visit Tazewell Speedway on two more occasions with events on July 3 for the Firecracker 40 and Sept. 6 for the Buddy Rogers Memorial.

Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky., returns to the schedule for the first time since 2017 with three visits paying $4,000-to-win to the track that sits on the Lincoln/Boyle County line starting with May 15, Aug. 7 and Oct. 2.

The series will return to the Brandon Hardgrove-promoted Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, Ky., for the first time since 2018 for the first of three stops on May 16 for the Johnny Wheeler Memorial, Aug. 29 for the Harold Hardgrove Memorial and Oct. 10 for the Lake Cumberland Classic.

411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, Tenn., will host the Iron-Man regional tour on three occasions as the tour will sanction the Scott Sexton Memorial on May 25, a Fourth of July Special on July 4 and the Annual Leftover Race on Nov. 28 at the McCarter Family promoted facility.

On June 5-6 the tour will host a pair of $4,000-to-win events at the Raymond Sheppard-promoted Wartburg (Tenn.) Speedway on June 5 for the Donald “Ducky” Jones Memorial and visit the Kyle Family-promoted I-75 (Tenn.) Raceway on June 6.

For the first time since 2018, the tour will visit the Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, Tenn. for a 40-lap $4,000-to-win event.

On Aug. 8 the tour will return to Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. for the 16th Annual Iron-Man Classic.

The Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Open Wheel Modified Series schedule is currently being put together and the schedule should be released within the next month.

2020 Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series Schedule

April 11 – Tazewell Speedway – Tazewell, Tenn.

May 15 – Ponderosa Speedway – Junction City, Ky.

May 16 – Lake Cumberland Speedway – Burnside, Ky.

May 25 – 411 Motor Speedway – Seymour, Tenn.

June 5 – Wartburg Speedway – Wartburg, Tenn.

June 6 – I-75 Raceway – Sweetwater, Tenn.

June 20 – Volunteer Speedway – Bulls Gap, Tenn.

July 3 – Tazewell Speedway – Tazewell, Tenn.

July 4 – 411 Motor Speedway – Seymour, Tenn.

Aug. 7 – Ponderosa Speedway – Junction City, Ky.

Aug. 8 – Smoky Mountain Speedway – Maryville, Tenn.

Aug. 29 – Lake Cumberland Speedway – Burnside, Ky.

Sept. 6 – Tazewell Speedway – Tazewell, Tenn.

Oct. 2 – Ponderosa Speedway – Junction City, Ky.

Oct. 10 – Lake Cumberland Speedway – Burnside, Ky.

Nov. 28 – 411 Motor Speedway – Seymour, Tenn.

error: Content is protected !!