Tyler Erb 2
Tyler Erb in victory lane at I-80 Speedway. (Heath Lawson photo)

Tyler Erb Banks $30,000

GREENWOOD, Neb. — Tyler Erb remains red-hot as the 24-year-old Texas native scored the biggest win of his racing career on Thursday night at I-80 Speedway.

Leading all 53 laps, Erb picked up $30,000 in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event.

Erb’s had a dominating performance in the caution-free race with a margin of victory of 5.5 seconds over Hudson O’Neal. Brandon Overton came home in third with Spencer Hughes and Ricky Thornton Jr. rounding out the top five.

In Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the fourth time in 2021, Erb was congratulated by his crew chief Randall Edwards and his race team.

“Going caution-free helps. Once you get in the rhythm there, you just try to keep going the same speed you are going, and you can tell when you mess up,” Erb explained. “I got to racing with lapped cars and I think my lead closed a little bit. This is awesome, this is the biggest win of my career, so I am pumped.”

O’Neal, who ran second to Overton on Tuesday came home in second.

“I didn’t know how close I could get to him [Erb] as far out he was. I knew traffic was going to play a big deal,” O’Neal said. “Whenever I got by Spencer [Hughes] for second I started to get a little closer and then I caught lapped traffic just like he was in. We had a great night and it’s been a great week so far; I am happy to get a couple of more nights to run for some great money.”

Overton, earned a podium finish with his third place showing.

“We are all on the same tires here. So, we have no excuses there. We just got better and better as the race went on. With this crowd it’s a good night for us. We still have two more days left so we are just going to keep on working on it and we’ll get them.” 

The finish:

Tyler Erb, Hudson O’Neal, Brandon Overton, Spencer Hughes, Ricky Thornton Jr., Ricky Weiss, Stormy Scott, Jimmy Owens, Jonathan Davenport, Shane Clanton, Chris Simpson, Brian Shirley, Brandon Sheppard, Tim McCreadie, Kyle Bronson, Chase Junghans, Frank Heckenast Jr., Josh Richars, Chad Simpson, Tyler Bruening, Mike Marlar, Scott Bloomquist, Tad Pospisill, Matt Cosner, Earl Pearson Jr., Jake Neal, Ben Schaller, Charlie McKenna, Chris Ferguson, Bill Leighton, Daniel Hilsabeck.


error: Content is protected !!