Ricky Thornton Jr. in victory lane at Georgetown Speedway. (Heath Lawson photo)

Thornton Does It Again At Georgetown

GEORGETOWN, Del. — For the second consecutive year, Ricky Thornton Jr. was a man on a mission at Georgetown Speedway.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points leader won the Melvin L. Joseph Memorial Race earning $19,049 on Friday night.

Thornton led all 49 laps to earn his fourth series win of 2024. Devin Moran finished second followed by Garrett Alberson, Jonathan Davenport and Ross Robinson.

In Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the 32nd time in his career, Thornton exclaimed he has taken a liking to Georgetown’s race track the last two years winning both times the series has appeared at the three-eighths-mile. Moran tried to make it close when the two encountered traffic, but timely caution flags thwarted any ideas that Moran had to overhaul Thornton.

Thornton’s winning margin at the finish was 1.679 seconds.

“I love coming here,” said Thornton. “I wish we were here more often. I don’t know, there is something about this place that fits me. I am not sure if we had the best car or not, I felt like when I got to traffic, I got slowed down quite a bit. The car was really good. We have a lot more work the next two nights, it’s definitely a good way to start the weekend. I moved up in three and four and I thought it’s hairy out here. My crew told me to get back to the bottom. My car was good after those restarts; the yellows came out at an opportune time for me when I got to traffic.”

Moran continued his surge in the series with his third straight podium finish as he nailed down the runner-up spot at the checkers.

“I felt like I could keep pace with Ricky. I don’t think I was any better than him. I was hoping to get in lapped traffic,” Moran said. “I was wanting to be able to try it on the top of three and four, but Ricky and those guys are obviously always on it so congratulations to those guys. All-in-all it was a good run. I have a decent track record here at Georgetown. I love coming here to race.”

Alberson finished third.

“I am not sure why I get around here so well. Growing up I didn’t think tracks like this would be my thing. I am just super proud of my guys. It was really fun. I was surprised how much speed you carry off in there. It didn’t look like it had the banking to be able to do that. Hats off to Ricky and Devin; it was a fun race.”

The finish:

Ricky Thornton Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Devin Moran, Hudson O’Neil, Daulton Wilson, Mike Marlar, Brandon Sheppard, Jimmy Owens, Tim McCreadie, Garrett Alberson, Tyler Erb, Clay Harris, Max Blair, Ross Robinson, Drake Troutman, Boom Briggs, Dennis Erb Jr., Kyle Bronson, Brenden Smith, Cory Lawler, Tony Jackson Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Dillon McCowan, Daniel Adam, Blair Nothdurft, Bob Gardner, Brian Shirley, Spencer Hughes, Tanner English, Cody Overton, Carson Ferguson.