Brandon Sheppard
Brandon Sheppard (Heath Lawson photo)

Sheppard Banks $15,000 Brownstown Prize

BROWNSTOWN, Ind. — Brandon Sheppard won his second consecutive Indiana Icebreaker as the event that was postponed from March paid him $15,000 Thursday night at Brownstown Speedway. 

It was Sheppard’s first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season as the four-time and reigning Dirt Track Word Championship winner came across the line ahead of Steve Casebolt, Devin Moran, Hudson O’Neal and Jimmy Owens.

Sheppard earned the outside front row starting spot in March and jumped to the lead at the start of the 50-lap race. Casebolt was the third driver to run in second as both Josh Richards and Kyle Bronson fell by the wayside. Casebolt picked up the second spot on lap 18 and stayed there until the checkers, with Sheppard in control of the race from the get-go.

Sheppard, who won the race when it was last held in 2019, led all 50 laps to become the 15th different winner this year in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

“Our car was really good. I would like to thank all the fans for coming out tonight,” Sheppard said. “We have three nights of racing this weekend, we love coming to Brownstown Speedway. The track had a lot of character to it tonight, but if it’s like that the rest of the weekend I won’t be mad at all about it.”

Casebolt, a Hoosier native, came home in second.

“I had a lot of fun out there tonight,” he said. “It was a little nerve racking at times but considering the rain they have had this week; it was also fun at the same time. It was nice to get a podium finish, it’s like a win for us. All these guys are so good, they do it all the time. To run second to the Rocket House Car, I am pleased with that.”

Moran finished second in the Jackson 100 a few years ago but is still seeking his first career win at Brownstown as he rounded out the podium in third.

“I always seem to run good here. They did all they could do to the track. It has rained here three or four days straight. It’s kind of incredible we got to race here at all tonight. I couldn’t run up there with Brandon and Steve. When I found that bottom, I just stayed there. We’re happy with a third and we will give it another shot tomorrow night.” 

The finish:

Brandon Sheppard, Steve Casebolt, Devin Moran, Hudson O’Neal, Jimmy Owens, Josh Rice, Tim McCreadie, Spencer Hughes, Tanner English, Tyler Erb, Dennis Erb Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Shelby Miles, Mike Marlar, Robby Hensley, Joe Godsey, Kyle Bronson, Josh Richards, Matt Cosner, Shane Clanton, Devin Gilpin, Brayton Laster, Billy Moyer Jr., Ricky Thornton Jr., Quentin White.

error: Content is protected !!