Brandon Overton (Heath Lawson photo)

Overton Keeps Rolling In Nebraska

GREENWOOD, Neb. — Brandon Overton found himself in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory lane at I-80 Speedway for the Al Belt Custom Homes I-80 Nationals.

During the 30 lap A-Main event, Overton had his hands full with several other drivers along his way to the checkered flag.

Overton pulled away from Hudson O’Neal after a restart with five laps to go for his second series win of the year and his first at the Nebraska speedplant.

Overton led on two different occasions during the race as O’Neal briefly led laps 15-18 until Overton forged back ahead for the final time on the 19th circuit.

O’Neal finished in second followed closely by Ricky Thornton Jr., Kyle Bronson, and Frank Heckenast Jr.

“The first restart out there he (O’Neal) was ready. He snuck around me there on the outside and I just stayed calm,” Overton said. “Our car is good, it’s really balanced. It isn’t all the way right yet, but we just have to keep working on it. All-in-all, to come out here and set fast time and win the race it’s pretty cool. This is such a cool place with a great payout. I am glad to be here to support the Kosiski’s and Lucas Oil.”

O’Neal, the Show-Me 100 winner challenged Overton for several laps before coming home in second.

“I don’t think I would have outrun him [Overton], but maybe I would have competed a little better than I did,” O’Neal said. “I rolled that top really good on that restart. I mean, I was just running as hard as I could. I wasn’t going to sustain up there for very long until he was going to drive right back around me because I was going to get my tires really hot. It’s pretty amazing the way he’s running. I am not disappointed at all to finish second to him.”  

The finish:

Brandon Overton, Hudson O’Neal, Ricky Thornton Jr., Kyle Bronson, Frank Heckenast Jr., Shane Clanton, Tim McCreadie, Chase Junghans, Ricky Weiss, Jonathan Davenport, Mike Marlar, Stormy Scott, Jimmy Owens, Tyler Erb, Chris Simpson, Spencer Hughes, Josh Richards, Scott Bloomquist, Tyler Bruening, Bill Leighton, Brandon Sheppard, Chad Simpson, Tad Pospisill.

error: Content is protected !!