Rodney Sanders 011622 Tyler Rinken Image
Rodney Sanders in victory lane.

Sanders Banks Wild West Modified Bonus

VADO, N.M. — Rodney Sanders continued his domination of Mesilla Valley Transportation / Border Tire Modified action presented by Rancho Milagro with his fourth-straight victory in Sunday’s Wild West Shootout finale.

Not only did he claim the $2,000 feature win, but he also claimed the $10,000 Four-Or-More Rio Grande Waste Services Bonus as well as the $1,000 Modified point’s title for the second-straight year.

Early leader Brandon Sheppard finished a close second with Dereck Ramirez, Brandon Givens, and Fito Gallardo rounding out the top five in the 25-lap feature.

A wild-and-closely contested X-Mod feature presented by Barnett Harley Davidson saw Aaron Blacklance and Andy Bryant battling side-by-side for the first half of the race before Bryant surged to the lead. 

Late in the race Kris Jackson, who was in contention for the $2,500 Arizona Differential Four-Or-More Bonus, challenged Bryant for the lead. The duo battled into turn four on the final lap with Bryant inching back ahead before Jackson spun exiting turn 4. Bryant went on to claim the $1,000 victory, which was his first of the week. 

Meanwhile, Jackson made contact with Bryant after the checkered flag resulting in Jackson’s disqualification. Blacklance finished second to clinch the $1,000 miniseries point’s title with Reece Solander, Jake Smith, and Aasa Flores completing the top five finishers.

The finish:

Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 20-Rodney Sanders[5]; 2. B5-Brandon Sheppard[1]; 3. 4R-Dereck Ramirez[6]; 4. 10BG-Brandon Givens[2]; 5. G17-Fito Gallardo[8]; 6. 02-Tanner Mullens[13]; 7. J17-Jake Gallardo[3]; 8. 88-Nathan Smith[4]; 9. 111-Bumper Jones[17]; 10. 21-Jacob Bleess[10]; 11. 4W-Tyler Wolff[18]; 12. 65X-Carlos Ahumada Jr[7]; 13. 24X-Xavier Ortega[11]; 14. 8-Dillon McCowan[14]; 15. 4RX-Jared Russell[21]; 16. 10-Dustin Robinson[19]; 17. 127-Paden Phillips[23]; 18. 16B-Randy Brown[15]; 19. 17-Brent Holman[22]; 20. 88C-Matt Crafton[12]; 21. 13-Troy Hovey[16]; 22. 32-DJ Shannon[9]; 23. 18JR-Chase Sigg[24]; 24. 71-Philip Houston[20] 



error: Content is protected !!