20211230 Usmts Koa Humboldt

King Of America Back At Humboldt March 24-26

HUMBOLDT, Kan. — The King of America XI Modified Nationals powered by Summit returns to the Humboldt Speedway on March 24-26.

Headlined by the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s, Saturday’s finale will see a top prize of no less than $15,000 for the USMTS Modifieds while USRA B-Mods have a $10,000 paycheck awaiting Saturday’s main event winner. Medieval USRA Stock Cars compete in a $1,500-to-win feature in the finale.

Currently, the total purse over the weekend will top more than $200,000 for the three divisions.

On-track action gets underway on Thursday with USMTS Modifieds racing for $3,000 to win and $300 to start. The prize money goes up with a $5,000-to-win, $500-to-start feature on Friday. A top prize of $15,000 is posted for Saturday’s main event winner with no less than $800 to start on Saturday Night.

Modified drivers will be able to earn USMTS points or USRA national points, but not both. A complete and separate show of qualifying heat races and main events are on tap all three nights.

Nine different drivers have claimed victory in the previous ten King of America contests and the list is a who’s-who of dirt modified racing.

Reigning Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Brooks Strength captured his first and only Summit USMTS National Championship feature win in last year’s finale to notch the biggest win of his career. On Friday night, Carlos Ahumada Jr. was with winner—his first and only career USMTS victory.

After an off-year for the COVID-19 pandemic, Ricky Thornton Jr. captured the crown two years earlier while two-time USRA Modified national champion Lucas Schott was the 2018 winner.

Two-time USMTS national champion Ryan Gustin won in and became the first and only repeat winner at the 2017 event.

Zack VanderBeek captured the title in 2016 after a thrilling late-race battle with 2014 race winner Rodney Sanders. Jason Hughes was the 2015 champion; Stormy Scott topped the 2012 event and nine-time USMTS champ Kelly Shryock claimed the inaugural crown in 2011.

In the 55 main events staged here, Hughes has more than doubled his nearest competitor with 13 career USMTS wins at ‘The Hummer’ while Scott has six wins. Gustin and Shryock both have five and Sanders follows with four victories.

Drivers with two wins include VanderBeek, Terry Phillips, Johnny Scott, Jason Krohn and Johnny Bone Jr. On one occasion the checkered flag has waved for Thornton, Schott, Tanner Mullens, Kyle Strickler, Tim Donlinger, Jon Tesch, Jeremy Payne, Mitch Keeter, Steve Holzkamper and William Gould.

error: Content is protected !!