Hibdon Collects Cocopah Win

SOMERTON, Ariz. — The second race night of the Harvest Hustle/Turkey Classic at Cocopah Speedway completed the season at the three-eighth-mile track and it was Kollin Hibdon posting the win in the IMCA modified division.

Russell Allen led the modified main for 10 laps with the top three running in line at the top of the oval. As the lap count grew, the track widened and sliders started being used. Soon, five cars were racing for the lead. Kollin Hibdon took the lead while Ricky Thornton Jr., who was moving forward from seventh, closed on the leader.

However, the laps ran out and Hibdon won over Thornton Jr. and Jason Wolla.

The IMCA Northern sport mod field had Bobby Horton lead a pair of laps before Jimmy Davy used the low line out of turn four to take the lead.  On lap seven, Miles Morris used the same move to take the lead and finished in front to sweep the weekend. 

Davy was second and Horton settled for third.

IMCA stock cars had Scott Sluka and Zachary Madrid race side by side for seven laps before Madrid used the bottom line to take over. After several laps of leading, Madrid had Brian Fitzgibbons racing side by side, but a late race yellow closed the pack. Josh Cain raced into second but was out of time to pressure Madrid. 

It was a sweep for Madrid, while Cain finished second and Fitzgibbons third.

The dwarf car main started with the top two trading sliders for five laps. Buddy Atencio stayed in the lead until a lap six crossover move in turn four by Bobby Brown allowed him to best Atencio. Brown pulled away from his challengers and Atencio raced with Brandon Wiley for runner-up honors.

Brown won with the help of a few late race passes, getting past Dustin Washburn and Brandon Wiley.

The pure stock field had Ricky Thornton Sr. and Chaz Baca taking turns in the lead for the first half of the main until Baca lost an engine.  Thornton Sr. controlled the second half for a weekend sweep with Jeremy Madrid and Anthony Greiner completing the top three.

Brycen Daffern dominated the IMCA hobby stocks, leading all but the first lap. 

Last night’s winner Joe Peterson was second with Cody Daffern taking third. Colton Murphy swept the weekend in the mini-dwarf sportsman division and Zaiden Haines also won both nights in the mini-dwarf masters group.