Eckert Is Selinsgrove Mod Winner

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Rick Eckert powered to his first Selinsgrove Speedway victory of the season in Saturday night’s 30-lap Renegades of Dirt Late Model-sanctioned race.

Eckert’s ninth career win at the track and fourth overall this season was worth $4,000.

On the start of the super late model feature, fifth-place starter Coleby Frye got momentarily sideways in turns one and two and collected Jim Yoder, Brett Schadel, and Tyson Mowery.

When the race resumed, second-place starter Rick Eckert pulled into the early lead and was chased by fourth-place starter Jeff Rine, who got by polesitter Ryan Montgomery for the runner-up position on the restart.

Bryan Bernheisel moved into third at the halfway point as 10th-place starter Dylan Yoder began to show a lot of speed in the second half of the race and powered into the top five. With 10 laps to race, Eckert was navigating his way through lapped traffic.

On a lap 24 restart, Yoder powered his way into third and set his sights on Eckert and Rine. At the finish, Eckert scored the win by 3.6 seconds over Rine, Yoder, Bernheisel, and seventh-place starter Jim Bernheisel.

Joey Amantea scored his first career sprint car win in the 20-lap USAC East Coast wingless 360 sprint car race, while Jake Jones won his sixth race of the year in the 15-lap roadrunner championship.

Jake Jones earned the win in the Roadrunners division. 

error: Content is protected !!