20230604 221937
Billy Dunn (DIRTcar photo)

Dunn Does It At Glen Ridge

FULTONVILLE, N.Y. — The DIRTcar 358 Modified Series season kicked off with a battle between champions in front of a record crowd Sunday night at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park.

Billy Dunn, the 2021 DIRTcar 358 Modified Series champion, outdueled Mat Williamson, the 2019 Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modified champion, in the final stage of the 50-lap Feature, scoring the $4,000 payday.

When the race commenced, Williamson shot to the lead from the pole, leaving Mathieu Desjardins and Dunn to fight for second. After a 14-lap duel, Dunn took the runner-up spot and then set his sights on Williamson.

Four cautions throughout the night helped bring Dunn to Williamson’s bumper, but “Money Mat” got a solid launch on each restart to maintain his top spot. Even lap traffic wasn’t enough to hinder to command out front. However, everything changed with 10 laps to go.

Williamson made the decision to run the outside, so Dunn decided to look low. As they went into turn three, Dunn’s inside groove proved to be an advantage as he powered past Williamson and moved into the lead.

Third-place Mike Mahaney was also able to imitate Dunn’s move, sliding past Williamson into the runner-up position, dropping Williamson to third. Once out in front, Dunn was then tasked with navigating slower traffic.

Dunn handled the task without error for the remaining nine laps of the race, capturing the victory in the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series season opener. Mahaney finished second, and Williamson finished in third to round out the night’s podium.

“It’s really special to get the first win here,” Dunn said. “I’ve raced here a lot and gotten a few wins, but to get this one and start the Series racing this way makes me feel good. We’re going to see if we can go to Can-Am [Speedway] and do the same thing.”

Mahaney felt positive about the night’s performance and optimistic about what it meant going forward.

“It was pretty racy throughout,” Mahaney said. “But it was awesome to be here. It was pretty exciting. Those last 10 laps we thought we could get him [Dunn] but that’s ok. We feel good about how tonight went.”

Mathieu Desjardins finished in fourth place and Stewart Friesen finished in fifth.

The finish:

Feature (50 Laps): 1. Billy Dunn ($4,000); 2. Mike Mahaney 3. Mat Williamson 4. Mathieu Desjardins 5. Stewart Friesen 6. Lance Willix 7. Felix Roy 8. Jordan McCreadie 9. Tyler Meeks 10. Adam Pierson 11. Garrett Poland 12. Jarrett Herbison 13. Chris Raabe 14. Dave Marcuccilli 15. Ryan Bartlett 16. Dalton Slack 17. Tyler Jashembowski 18. Steve Lewis Jr. 19. Darryl Mitchell 20. Carter Gibbons 21. Brian Calabrese 22. Chris Mackey 23. CJ Castelletti 24. Marshall Hurd 25. Taylor Wason 26. Cory Cormier 27. Tanner Van Doren 28. William August 29. Tucker O’ Connor 30. Brian Pessolano 31. Tommy Collins Jr. (DNS)