Super Dirt Week 358 Mods 10 9 23 7121
Mat Williamson (6) races under Anthony Perrego Monday at Oswego Speedway. (Jim Feeney photo)

10 Drivers Rise On Super DIRTcar Series Wins List

CONCORD, N.C. — The Super DIRTcar Series season was one for the record books with Matt Sheppard earning his 10th series title and others scoring big wins.

From Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals to the World of Outlaws World Finals, the season saw several drivers rise on the all-time wins list and one add his name to the list.

Here’s a look at who moved up the list during the 2023 season:

Sheppard Approaching the Top

Matt Sheppard has won three Super DIRTcar Series feature at Orange County Fair Speedway, however, his win in 2023 may be the most memorable. He passed Danny Johnson for second on the all-time wins list with his then 90th series win.

The 10-time series champion earned four more wins before the season was over and now only trails Brett Hearn, who is at the top with 141 triumphs. However, there’s another milestone ahead of the Waterloo, N.Y., driver. “Super” Matt is six wins away from reaching 100 series victories — a feat only Hearn has accomplished.

It’ll be one of the many storylines in 2024 as Sheppard vies for his record 11th title.

The Rise of Williamson

Mat Williamson finished the season with seven victories, more than any other driver this year.

He opened the season by scoring two wins at Volusia Speedway Park and added two more at Weedsport Speedway. Then, he won at Brewerton Speedway and Bridgeport Speedway and claimed his third Billy Whitaker Cars and Trux win at Oswego Speedway during Super DIRT Week 51.

Those seven wins moved him from a tie with Kenny Tremont for 20th on the all-time wins list to 14th with 22 wins — tied with Will Cagle. He also passed Jimmy Phelps, Gary Tomkins and Kenny Brightbill on his way up the ladder.

Hall of Famer Fuller Strikes

In the same season Tim Fuller was inducted into the Northeast Dirt Modified Hall of Fame, the Edwards, N.Y., driver earned three Super DIRTcar Series wins to prove the veteran isn’t slowing down.

Fuller has 35 series wins after the 2023 season, scoring victories at Land of Legends Raceway, Brockville Ontario Speedway and The Dirt Track at Charlotte. However, he remains in sole possession of eighth place on the all-time wins list.

His next milestone on that list is four wins away, where he’d tie “Barefoot” Bob McCreadie for seventh all-time with 39 wins.

Rudolph Rises

Erick Rudolph’s two wins this season moved him up seven spots on the all-time wins list from a tie for 32nd with Bob Wearing Sr. to 25th with nine victories.

The Ransomville, N.Y. driver grabbed his first win at Autodrome Drummond in July before earning his first Super DIRTcar Series win in front of his home crowd at Ransomville Speedway in August.

Rudolph is two wins away from moving to 24th, where he’d tie Dave Lape with 11 victories.

Hile Driven

In 23 Super DIRTcar Series races this season, only one driver etched their name into series history for the first time — Chris HIle.

The Oswego, N.Y. driver earned his first career series win in June at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, leading 32 laps and holding off defending track champion Matt Delorenzo. With his win, the “Hile Driver” became the 192nd winner in series history.

Moving Up 1

With one victory in the season, Max McLaughlin, Mike Mahaney, Anthony Perrego and Andy Bachetti each moved up a spot on the all-time wins list.

McLaughlin opened the year with a win at Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals — his only triumph of 2023. That was his fifth career series victory, moving him into a six-way tie for 37th on the all-time wins list.

Perrego and Mahaney each scored their third career series win during the 2023 campaign. Perrego held off Sheppard to win Big Diamond, while Mike Mahaney won the “King of the North” finale at Autodrome Drummond. Both drivers are tied for 55th in series wins.

Andy Bachetti jumped to a tie for 26th on the all-time wins list with his third consecutive Mr. Dirt Track USA win at Lebanon Valley Speedway. It was the Sheffield, Ma., driver’s eighth career win.

44 For the 44

Stewart Friesen only cracked the win column once this season, but by winning at Albany-Saratoga Speedway in September, the driver of the No. 44 Big Block earned his 44th career series win.

The Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, driver currently sits sixth on the all-time wins list and is 13 wins away from catching Alan Johnson for fifth with 57 wins.